Home » SSAWW Announcements

Category Archives: SSAWW Announcements

SSAWW Graduate Student Paper Award 2015

SSAWW will present an award for the best paper by a graduate student at the 2015 SSAWW conference.

The Award

This award brings recognition and a monetary prize. First- and second-place winners will be awarded a monetary prize and publicly recognized on the SSAWW website. (Note: this award is separate from the Legacy award.)

A committee of three SSAWW members reads the submissions and selects the award winner(s).

Submission Instructions

Submit papers (single PDF or Word document) to the Vice President of Development, Kristin J. Jacobson (Kristin dot Jacobson at stockton dot edu) after the conference. Submissions should include:

1) The paper presented (no more than 2500 words)
2) The name of your panel
3) Contact information (name, institution, degree program, email)

You are welcome to revise the paper from its conference form, but please do not exceed 2500 words.

Deadline: 1 December 2015

Award Announcement: March 2016


SSAWW 2015 Conference * Philadelphia, Sheraton Society Hill * November 4-8, 2015

SSAWW Website: http:// https://ssawwnew.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SSAmWW

Conference Hashtag: #ssaww15                                          Twitter: @SSAWWrs

Fall 2015 SSAWW Newsletter Now Available

The Fall 2015 SSAWW Newsletter is now available: SSAWW 16-2 Fall 2015

Last call for Fall 2015 SSAWW Newsletter Items

If you have items you¹d like to see in the Fall 2015 SSAWW Newsletter, please send them to me at ssaww.web@gmail.com  by September 25. This is the last issue before our conference in November, and it will be out before we convene in Philadelphia.

If you’re sending in a notice of a new book or article (and please do send these!), it would be helpful if you could include a link to the press’s page on your book (for books) and to put the article citations in MLA format (for articles).

Other items to send:

  • –calls for papers for conferences, journal issues, edited collections, and so on
  • –conference announcements
  • –invitations to apply for grants and fellowships
  • –new books by SSAWW members
  • –new articles by SSAWW members
  • –reports from SSAWW regional study groups
  • –announcements of upcoming SSAWW regional study group meetings
  • –announcements of book prizes (either received or invitations to submit)


SSAWW Directory Updated

The SSAWW Membership Directory has been updated: https://ssawwnew.wordpress.com/membership/directory/

Thanks to VP for Membership Dr. Heidi M. Hanrahan for making this resource available. 

Student Travel Awards Donations for SSAWW 2015

If you are able, please consider making a donation to our graduate student travel fund. We all know that funding is tight at many schools and most of our graduate students are really struggling to make ends meet. Any amount you can donate will make a difference.

Remember, your donations are tax deductible. And you’ll be helping the next generation of scholars!

You can donate via PayPal here: https://ssawwnew.wordpress.com/membership/.

You can also donate via check. Please make your checks payable to Society for the Study of American Women Writers and be sure to write “Graduate Student Travel Fund” in the check’s memo field.

Donations can be sent to:

Dr. Heidi Hanrahan

Department of English

Shepherd University

P.O. Box 5000

Shepherdstown, West Virginia 25443

Thank you for considering this.

New “Chat with an Editor” Feature at the SSAWW Conference in Philadelphia

Do you have questions about any aspect of publishing in a scholarly journal? Would you like an editor to look over the abstract and/or introduction to an article you’re thinking of sending out to a journal? Would you like advice about turning a dissertation chapter into a publishable article? Throughout the conference, we’ll have editors of different scholarly journals on hand to meet with conference attendees. Sign up coming soon.

With thanks to the editors involved.

These sessions will complement several other program features at SSAWW such as the Mentoring Breakfast table topics on publishing articles, and publishing books and the session, “Publishing and the Open Access Journal: A Roundtable Discussion,” on Friday. 

SSAWW News: SSAWW Announces New President, Professor DoVeanna Fulton

Dear All

I am very pleased and excited  to announce that DoVeanna Fulton, the distingused ‎Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Houston-Downtown has been elected the new President of SSAWW, as from January 1 2016. DoVeanna was elected unopposed.

I should like to welcome her to the Presidency that I am vacating. It’s a wonderful job, made especially wonderful by the great membership and the brilliant SSAWW officers and executive.


Dick Ellis

President SSAWW

Editor, Charles Chesnutt, The Colonel’s Dream (UWest Virgina P, 2014)

Editor, Harriet Jacobs, Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (Oxford UP, 2015)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,983 other followers