CFP: Carson McCullers Society (Extended Deadline)

CFP – deadline extended to March 15th

“Southern Modernist Women Writers and the Streets”
Modernist Studies Association conference; Brooklyn, NY; October 22-25, 2020

In keeping with the Modernist Studies Association 2020 conference theme of the “streets,” the Carson McCullers Society is pleased to organize a roundtable discussion series about southern modernist women writers and the streets. The roundtable is intended to spark conversation among Eudora Welty, Flannery O’Connor, Carson McCullers, Margaret Walker, Katherine Anne Porter, Kate Chopin, Anne Spencer, Zora Neale Hurston, and Lillian Hellman scholars, among others, about the innovations and interventions of southern modernist women writers in creating street scenes and characters. Please email all queries and/or a 300-word abstract and short bio with the subject line “MSA 2020 abstract” to the Carson McCullers Society at by end of day Sunday, March 15th.

Call for entries – deadline extended to April 30th

The Carson McCullers Annual Outstanding Conference Paper Award

The Carson McCullers Society is pleased to invite submissions for its annual prize for Outstanding Conference Paper. This award recognizes the best entry for a scholarly essay on the life and work of Carson McCullers presented at a conference the previous year. Entrants should provide evidence that the paper was presented at a national, regional or international academic conference during the 2019 calendar year (January 1 to December 31) and that the winner is an active member of Society at the time of receipt of the award (information on membership can be found here on our website). Submissions for this blind-judged competition are welcome from all levels of scholars and bear a $100 honorarium and recognition by the Society for best entry at the annual American Literature Association Conference in San Diego, CA. To enter the contest, please send a double-spaced paper and a conference program listing the paper to Carson McCullers Society President Isadora Wagner ( by Thursday, April 30th, 2020.