Prizes: SSAWW Graduate Student Paper Awards Announced

SSAWW Graduate Student Paper Awards

The Society for the Study of American Women Writers is pleased to announce the winners of its 2015 Graduate Student Paper Awards, which recognize the exemplary work that graduate students presented at the recent SSAWW conference in Philadelphia, PA. This contest is separate from the best paper award sponsored by Legacy. Awards include a prize of $250 for first place and $150 for second place. 
The following winning papers were selected among 32 entries:
First place
Julia Dauer, University of Wisconsin-Madison, “Maureen Cummins: Bookmaking and the Nineteenth-Century Archive”
Second place
Kimberly Farris, UNC Chapel Hill, “Educating the Nation: Pedagogical Nationalism and Female Utopias in Augusta Jane Evans’s Macaria
Honorable Mention 
Faune Albert, University of Massachusetts Amherst, “(Re)writing Histories in the Crossing: Natasha Trethewey and the Poetics of the Miscegenated Body”
Mark B. Kelley, University of California, San Diego, “‘An Offense without Feeling’: Confederate Pirates of Sympathy and Maria Cummins’s Haunted Hearts (1864).”
SSAWW thanks the 2015 Graduate Student Award Committee members: Conseula Francis (College of Charleston), Lisa West (Drake University), and Amy Hobbs Harris (Central State University). 
All 2015 award winners are recognized on SSAWW’s website:
Kristin J. Jacobson
Associate Professor of American Literature, American Studies, and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Stockton University