Legacy Best Paper Awards for Papers Presented at SSAWW 2015 (12.11.15)

Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers is happy to announce a contest to honor the best papers presented at the upcoming Society for the Study of American Women Writers conference (5-8 November 2015) in Philadelphia. Two prizes will be awarded: one for the best paper presented by a graduate student, and one for the best paper presented by a non-student member of SSAWW. If you attend the conference and read your paper in person, you will be eligible to submit that paper for this award. Please note that this contest is separate from the one administered by the SSAWW for best graduate student paper.

Please send conference-length papers (i.e., in the form in which they were delivered) to Susan Tomlinson (tomlinson.legacy@gmail.com) by 11 December 2015. If you are not using Microsoft Word, please send your file in .rtf or .pdf format. Regardless of format, please ensure that your name appears only on the title page and that any references to your own work within the essay appear in the third person. Please also indicate whether you are entering in the graduate student or non-student member category.

Subsequent to the contest, the winners will be invited to expand their papers to a length of 8,000-10,000 words, including documentation. If they are suitable for publication and in compliance with the University of Nebraska Press copyright policy, these revised essays will be published in a future issue of Legacy.

The University of Nebraska Press copyright policy dictates that essays published in Legacy may not have been published previously in any form (print or online, including as part of a dissertation chapter if the dissertation has been posted to any electronic venue, even your university’s library) or be under consideration by any other journal or publisher.

While Legacy has a historical orientation and a chronological scope that ends at approximately 1930, we make an exception to this rule for the SSAWW Best Papers Contest in order to open the competition to presenters working in all time periods.